Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Equivalency of Training (EOT)

REQUIREMENTS TO BE EMPLOYED AS A LAW ENFORCEMENT OR CORRECTIONAL OFFICER IN FLORIDA To become employed as a certified law enforcement, correctional or correctional probation officer in Florida individuals must:

  • Be at least 19 years of age for law enforcement and correctional probation.
  • Be at least 18 years of age for corrections.
  • Be a citizen of the United States.
  • Have earned a high school graduate or equivalent (GED). (A bachelor’s degree is required for correctional probation officers.)
  • Have not been convicted of any felony or of any misdemeanor involving perjury or a false statement.
  • Any person who, after July 1, 1981, pleads guilty or nolo contendere to, or is found guilty of any felony or of a misdemeanor involving perjury or a false statement, shall not be eligible for employment or appointment as an officer, not-withstanding suspension of sentence or withholding of adjudication. For further information see FS 943.13
  • Have never received a dishonorable discharge from any of the Armed Forces of the United States.

 

  • Have good moral character.
  • Have successfully completed the Florida Basic Recruit Training Program for the respective discipline or completed the Equivalency of Training process. 
  • Have achieved a passing score on the State Officer Certification Examination.
  • Have been fingerprinted by the employing agency with prints processed by the FDLE and the FBI.
  • Have successfully passed a background investigation, to include drug testing.
  • Have passed a physical examination by a licensed physician, physician assistant, or certified advanced registered nurse practitioner.
  • Have completed a CJSTC-68 Affidavit of Applicant Form.
  • Have complied with mandatory retraining or educational requirements (if already a certified officer)

STEPS FOR EXEMPTION OF TRAINING FOR FL LAW ENFORCEMENT / CORRECTIONS OFFICER

This course is for previous Florida Certified and Out-of-State Certified officers seeking certification as Florida Certified Officers

Step 1   Apply for a CJSTC 76 Form

(evaluation that establishes eligibility from training and work history)

Out of state (less than eight year break in service) $225 
In-State (less than eight year break in service $75 

Step 2   Register for Equivalency of Training Course 

(must be accompanied by a valid CJSTC 76 Form)

  Law Enforcement Officer $1,100  
  Correctional Officer $900  

Refund Policy:  No refunds will be issued after the start of class

March 25-31, 2024

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.